August

August 2018 - One Time Link to a Meeting in a Virtual Meeting Room

In every video conference link, security and privacy are among the most critical components. Because of this, we are happy to announce a new improvement to our cloud video conference rooms – a one-time link.
 
 
What is a one-time link to a meeting?
Today, we use our personal video rooms to host meetings. The virtual room already includes security features such as the ability to lock the room after all the required participants have joined, or use of a secret passcode that limits who can enter the conference, but the link to the video room always remains the same.
This means that anyone who has the link (even from meetings they were invited to in the past), can enter your personal room if you have not put any other limitation on it such as locking the room or changing the passcode.
 
This has the potential to cause problems in two situations:
  1. The room is in use constantly for meetings that are close together
  2. The contents of the meeting are confidential and someone uninvited enters the virtual meeting room.
A one-time link per meeting is unique and its validity expires as soon as the meeting is over. In this way, only someone invited to that specific meeting can enter using the special link. This new capability adds a whole new layer to the existing security measures and gives you more control over the way you secure your meetings.
 
 
How do you set up a meeting with a one-time link?
If you are using the Outlook add-on for meeting invitations, just make a new meeting. At this stage you will be asked to choose between a meeting with a one-time link or the standard link for your room. The default is to use a one-time link, but you can always change this setting. The connection information will automatically appear in the meeting invitation so that your guests will be able to join quickly and easily. You can create a meeting via the same process using the mobile application (Android or iOS).
 
Is there anything else that you need to know?
The ability to use the one-time link invite also exists in Offline mode, meaning, you don’t need to be connected to the internet. In this case, the service will remember your choice (up to a limited number of invites) and will send the invitations to the participants as soon as you are connected to the internet again.
 
When will this new capability be available?
This capability is already available to all users. Because it is still in beta testing, if you have any comments or critique, we are happy to hear what you have to say.